Lazy Saturday

Lazy Saturday, lounging in my jammies.

Head still pounding signaling the need for more sleep.

I open my eyes and see the clock glaring at me. It’s seven a.m. and I am awake.

The house is quiet and I have nowhere to go today.

I thank the gods. It is the first Saturday in a month that I do not have plans.

My internal debate begins.

Should I get out of bed? Should I go back to sleep?

I close my eyes and think about not thinking.

That does not work so well.

Hmmm….what is on my twitter feed, my flipboard, facebook?

Suddenly there is a knock on the door. “Do want breakfast?” my roommate asks as she pokes her head in my room. “I’m making french toast!”

Breakfast made FOR me? “Absolutely!”

The smell of cinnamon fills the house. I shuffle down the hall and into the dining room to sit in front of hot french toast and a plate of fresh fruit and syrup.

Delicious.

I make a mug of hot chai and chat with my friend about nothing in particular.

What a lovely lazy Saturday morning.

6 Comments

  1. My day was about the exact opposite. I had to go to opening day for my brother’s baseball league from 8:00 am to 1:30pm. I’m exhausted.

  2. From 6th grade teacher to 6th grade teacher, I’m so glad you enjoyed your Saturday morning! My experience was much the same…lazy, slow, and perfect. I loved the poetry and fun details as you described your morning.

  3. I don’t usually have a lazy Saturday. My sister usually has dance. The French toast sound delicious.

  4. I got up so early on Saturday morning. I don’t like french toast. I had oatmeal for breakfast.

  5. nickoprather88beep

    March 24, 2014 at 4:34 pm

    That’s how Saturdays are for me. Very good topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

Skip to toolbar